Skip to content

Getting in the Mood for Learning

February 1, 2012

Edith Piaf artwork by Yumnu

Taking on a language is not easy at all and being motivated for every study session is impossible no matter what some hyper-anal type-A personalities might say.  However, sometimes a bit of music can set the mood just right and get you back into the groove.

If you like something quiet in the background as you study then I would recommend Django Reinhardt’s Quintet du Hot Club de France.  Songs like “Manoir de Mes Rêves” and “R-Vingt-Six” have that classic Paris café vibe.

 

For that airy, quintessentially French vocal sound there’s Olivia Ruiz.  Try “La Femme Chocolat.”

 

Film buffs in love with soft, delicate music will adore Alexandre Desplat.  He’s scored too many major movies to list, but a good song to try is “A New Life” from ‘Benjamin Button.’

 

If punk is your style, but you still want to keep it super Frenchy, there’s a French version of Sex Pistols out there for you.  It’s of course titled “L’Anarchie pour l’UK.”

 

Paris is known for its House music scene, so there’s the famous duo of Daft Punk and their major motivator of a song, “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger.”

 

Of course there’s millions more out there to discover and that’s what Euro radio is for!  And for current and underground enthusiasts (of the French variety), Le Mouv is your station.  For the German learner’s, check out German Music to Get You in the Mindset.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 10:25 am

    Thanks for posting this! Listening to French music is so good but I’ve been stuck in sort of a rut and needed something new. In other exciting news, I successfully navigated a store and a dentist appointment tout les mots en francais. All of a sudden, it’s working and I am speaking without thinking, a year after being partly immersed. So all the work eventually pays off very suddenly, in my opinion.

    • February 1, 2012 11:32 am

      Oooh, that’s awesome! I know if I could immerse myself for even a bit I’d be much further along. It’s hard enough just trying to find a cable channel in French that I could possibly subscribe to. But that’s exciting to hear that all of a sudden French just clicked. That’s something fun to look forward to!

      • February 15, 2012 1:24 pm

        ooh~ Ill have to take a listen to these when I get home. This reminded me of In-grid style who I sometimes take a look at. Here’s a link to one of my favorite songs from her more recent album “Lounge Musique” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AeKZ3MfwZo
        and I came across a couple french channels when I was in search of watching the “Food network” online hahah.

      • February 16, 2012 9:42 am

        That’s right! I had to do some digging, but I just re-found that In-Grid song you sent me last summer “Vive Le Swing.” I’m at the point where I could put together another music post.

Leave a Reply

